Being a Self-Funded PhD Student

[Please note that the title of this post has been edited. For clarification neither Jen nor myself are part-time students, but we are both self-funded. I apologise for the error, which was entirely mine.]

I’d read this when it was first published, but it’s popped back up on my twitter feed today. I met Jen at the Monsters and the Monstrous conference, and she is one of the authors in the collection that I co-edited from the conference. (Gentle reminder that Monstrous Manifestations is still available in e-book.)

Other than a shameless signal boost and self promotion, I wanted to reblog Jen’s article because she eloquently addresses a few aspects of the PhD that I haven’t discussed on here – particularly the experiences of a self-funding student, which is something that we both share.

Jen Baker is currently undertaking a Ph.D. English Literature at the University of Bristol.

via Jen Baker, University of Bristol.

This entry was posted in Down the Rabbit Hole. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

