Folk Belief and the Witch Hunts Syllabus

An Erasmus student that I follow on WordPress is doing the Folk Belief and the Witch Hunts module in History at the University of Glasgow taught by Dr Lizanne Henderson, who was teaching in History at Dundee when I was an undergrad.

I always like getting a look at undergrad modules from other Unis. Partly for academic purposes – it’s good to have examples to refer to when building your own course or even to give you a starting point for a new avenue of research. But also because it’s interesting and fun to imagine what modules you would take if you’d gone to a different Uni at a different time. If I was an undergrad at Glasgow now I’d definitely be taking this one.

Mary Marvels

Today included my second lecture for Patriarchy, Sex, and Gender in Early Modern Europe but was really made special by the first day of my second history class, Folk Belief and the Witch Hunts. Now, that is a significantly smaller class (and has more Americans in it) but it looks like it will be extremely enjoyable. Our topics, while focusing on early modern Europe, will branch out back into the Medieval period and from North America to Africa.

So, I thought I’d show my syllabus for the class:

The syllabus cover The syllabus cover

The essay questions. Note, in particular, number five. I have a book I'd like to use as a reference if I answer that essay, "Vampires, Burial, and Death: Folklore and Reality" by Paul Barber. If i can find a copy over here, that is... The essay questions. Note, in particular, number five. I have a book I’d like to use as a reference if I answer that essay, “Vampires, Burial, and Death: Folklore and Reality” by Paul Barber. If i can find a copy over here, that is…

And, we'll be watching the original Dracula film in class! Not like I haven't seen it ten times already, but it should be fun. Apparently one of our final exam questions addresses this film in relationship to the book (which I also adore, no surprise there) so that's good. And, we’ll be watching the original Dracula film in class! Not like I haven’t seen it…

View original post 36 more words

One thought on “Folk Belief and the Witch Hunts Syllabus

Add yours

  1. This looks very interesting. But where are the werewolf trials? Or is it mainly about Britain and America? Also I would be doing essay question number five. It would make me too happy.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

