“I Am What I Am”: Thinking About Careers Post-PhD and Post-PostDoc

Dr Kieran Fenby-Hulse

It is my last week at Bath Spa University and it feels like a good time to reflect on my career path so far and some of the decisions I have made since completeing my PhD. This has not proven to be a simple task, as the way in which a career unfolds is often the result of a combination of chance, ambition, and passion, as well as gut instinct, informed decision making, and personal and professional development.

I went through my PhD without ever thinking too hard about my career expectations or career path. I – like many undertaking a PhD in the arts and humanities – assumed that a lecturership was the end goal. However, the scarce number of postdoc positions combined with the fact that I needed a full-time job meant that on completing my PhD practical decisions had to be made – hourly paid lectureships (often…

View original post 1,015 more words

This entry was posted in Conferences/Journals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

