Radical Fairy Tales and Little Monsters

I hope you’ve all been enjoying the succession of CFPs that have severed as substitutes for my updates of late. I’m currently in academic limbo between submission and viva. I’ve also increased my hours at work, and so have been rather lax on updating here.

Submitting was equal parts stressful and underwhelming. Because I now live some distance from my University, I submitted by posting my thesis to the Registry so I missed out on the big handing it over moment.

At least I avoided this…

The pot-submission slump was soothed somewhat by having a conference planned right after, as I presented at The Company of Wolves. My paper was entitled ‘Little Monsters: Hybrid offspring in steampunk and contemporary gothic texts‘ and my slides are available online.

You can also hear my paper from earlier in the year at the Wonderlands Symposium, as the Sussex Centre for Folklore, Fairy Tale and Fantasy recorded many of the presentations for the conference and made them available through their online newsletter Gossip and Tales. If you’d like to jump to my panel, you can find my paper ‘Through the Looking Glass: Adaptation as Mirror in Contemporary Fairy Tales’ second in the panel.

This entry was posted in Down the Rabbit Hole and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

